Polymer Clay Surface Design Recipes Review

1592531717_01__aa_scmzzzzzzz_.jpg

Polymer Clay Surface Design Recipes: 100 Mixed-Media Techniques Plus Project Ideas
by Ellen Marshall

 As usual, this book begins with a section on polymer clay basics.  Chapters include:  Surface Techniques and Applications (Basic Surface Recipes and Surface Techniques Intensives), Projects and Gallery.

Basic Surface Recipes are just that, the basic techniques such as stamping, printing, painting, applying canes, inks, etc.  Each starts with a materials list and some short intructions and then 3 variations with shorted instuctions.  Pictures are large and clear.

Surface Techniques Intensives are more elaborate combinations of the basic recipes and include:  Airbrushing, Brocade, Masking with Wire, Ikat Color Blend, Batik Effect, etc.

The projects are easy to follow with step by step instructions, materials list and plenty of pictures.

The gallery is 18 pages of large photos with short explanations of techniques used.

For me this is an experiment and inspiration book.  The projects aren’t my style.  It’s interesting to see the myriad of things one can do to the surface of clay and quite a lot of messy fun trying them out.  Some recipes use ingredients that I consider unusual so don’t have on hand (someday I’ll get them and try out those recipes) but there’s plenty to play with using “normal” clay supplies.  It’s also encouraged my to think outside the box and try combinations of materials I wouldn’t normally try together.

This is the book I pull out and play from when I’m in the mood to clay but don’t really care if I produce anything usable.  And a few of the things I’ve learned I’ve added to my repertoire.

Published in: on March 29, 2007 at 9:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dystini.wordpress.com/2007/03/29/22/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

