to sculpt or not to sculpt

I’m contemplating trying to sculpt again.  I’ve got “Creating Lifelike figures in Polymer Clay” by Katherine Dewey.  I have a mold for a female face (I cannot sculpt a decent face to save my life, even with the book and several online tuts).  I’ve got some cool stuff for making wings (not to mention the oodles of online tuts for making wings).

I rarely finish a humanoid sculpt.  It’s very difficult and time consuming for me to make one and my patience usually runs out.  I’ve got a body and several heads around here somewhere that I’ll probably never finish.

But I picked up a cool little birdcage over the weekend that is screaming to have a fairy inside.  And I’ve got a big tin of lace (some of it vintage) for fairy clothing. 

I haven’t attempted a fairy in well over 2 years.  I think it’s time to try again.

I may never be as good as some of those artists who sell their fairies on Ebay but I hope to eventually make one I can actually call pretty.  And despite the frustration it causes me, I can only keep trying.  Practice makes perfect (I’ll settle for pretty good).

Published in: on May 29, 2007 at 10:16 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dystini.wordpress.com/2007/05/29/to-sculpt-or-not-to-sculpt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

