Morning pages

I’d like some opinions on this.

I’m thinking of making my morning pages into bedtime pages.

I understand the purpose of doing them in the morning – to drain the mundane out of your head so you’re free to be creative.  I struggle to find things to write.  I’m not a morning person.  I have no thoughts whatsoever til I’ve been up for a few hours.  I’ve already delayed writing til I’ve been up nearly an hour.  I write things like “My back hurts.”  and complain about the weather “It’s cold.”  “It’s snowing AGAIN.”  and list things things I need to do that day and sometimes work out some creative ideas.  But mostly I just complain about how much more space I have to fill to reach 3 pages.  A few times I’ve even shortened it to 2 pages.  I just want to get on with my day and do those things on my to-do list, especially if they’re mundane tasks (laundry, shovel snow, etc), so that I can get to doing the things I want to do (ie, the creative, fun stuff).

I have trouble falling asleep at night.  It takes 30 minutes to an hour and sometimes more for me to fall asleep.  My brain must process all the events and conversations of the day.  I’m thinking if I do the morning pages at night, just before bed, I can drain all that crap out, fall asleep faster and maybe sleep better, in turn making me more rested in the morning and better able to create.  And maybe I can purge that damn recurring dream I have.

Content changes but the main theme of the dream is the inability to accomplish whatever it is I have to do.  For example, I need to go somewhere.  First I have to get dressed and I can’t find or choose what I want to wear.  Then I need to gather the things I need to take with me and I can’t find an essential item.  Or I can’t fit all the items into my bag (it’s like they’re multiplying or growing in size as I’m packing the bag).

I figure this dream has something to do with the fact that I’m trying to do too much in my waking life.  I’m working on cutting things back or out so I’m not so overwhelmed.

 I digress.  I just think that doing the pages before bed would be more useful to me.  What do you think?  Leave me a comment with your opinion.

Published in: on February 10, 2008 at 10:21 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dystini.wordpress.com/2008/02/10/morning-pages/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

