Recursive Molding

I was playing with recursive molding from Grant Diffendaffer’s book today.

I think I understand the concept.  I think I’m getting the concept to work.  I think that the concept is to not understand what I’m doing but to just do it. 

Confused?  Me too.  But I’m having fun.

Here some pics:  Click on them to see bigger versions.

recmold001.jpg  recmold002.jpg  recmold003.jpg

 Most are metallic clays, custom color mixes, in jellyrolls.  One is black rubbed with Pearl ex gold and one is layered translucent canes (I wanted to see what would happen).  A few are canes slices, put on a sheet and rolled smooth, backed with scrap to get the thickness and then the backs covered in black.

They need to be sanded and buffed.  I’m undecided about glazing.  I may glaze some and not others.  I’ll be spending tomorrow with my trusty Scumbuster sanding away, if I can tear myself away from making more.

Published in: on March 3, 2008 at 11:13 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dystini.wordpress.com/2008/03/03/recursive-molding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My unsolicited advice…skip the glaze- there is already a lot of very intersting stuff going on and the glaze would just add another (confusing) distracting layer to the beauty of the pieces.

  2. I ended up glazing half and leaving the rest just buffed. I’m a shine fiend so I had to see how some of them looked with glaze. I havn’t yet had a chance to compare them with the unglazed ones in daylight to see which I like best. I can always strip off the glaze if I need to.

    I do appreciate the advice, unsolicited or not. I really enjoy reading your blog.

  3. Wow those are very interesting beads! The colors and the shapes have an intergalactic look. They look like they would be fun to make.

    Cindy Lietz
    “I learned by making mistakes… Now you don`t have to.”


Leave a Reply

