A string of bad luck

I don’t know what’s causing it but I seem to be having a string of bad luck. 

On Friday, all the fans on my computer including the one in the power supply decided to act funny or just plain quit working (ok so one fan’s been acting up for months, but the rest joined it).  Had to replace them all, including a new power supply and even added another fan since I had space for it.

First thing Saturday morning, I fell partway down the stairs and sprained my ankle.  And I do mean first thing.  I woke up, got up, and got dressed.  We smoke but not in the house and we live in an upper.  So I put on my jacket and head down the stairs just like I do every morning.  I must have stepped out too far on the first step cuz the next thing I know I’m sitting on my butt 4 steps down wondering what the heck just happened.  I sat there a moment before getting up and carefully going the rest of the way down.  Back when I was a teenager I severely (as in I’m lucky I didn’t break it) sprained my right ankle and for several years afterwards that ankle was prone to mild sprains so I’m very familar with how a sprained ankle feels.  So I’m sitting at the bottom of the stairs, smoking, and wondering if my ankle (it’s my right one again) is going to swell up like a balloon.  Previous experience tells me that I won’t know for 20 minutes or more (I don’t know if it’s normal but I have delayed reactions to injuries like that).  So I carefully make my way back upstairs and to my computer.  45 minutes later, only slight swelling and mild pain tells me it’s a mild sprain (thankfully).  No need to go to the doctor in that case, they’ll just tell me to wrap it, ice it, elevate it and stay off it.  I’m managing the stay off it part, mostly.  I did wrap it when we made a Walmart run (and unwrapped it as soon as I got home).  Elevated it by laying in the recliner today while playing the Wii.  To sum it up, I’m sitting as much as possible and limping when I do walk around.  And the tendancy to walk with the right foot turned out (about 45 degrees) is back with a vengeance.  I developed that tendancy after the first sprain when I was off the crutches (probably too early, I hated those things) and it was still slightly painful to walk.  With a lot of effort I learned to correct it tho it came back a bit whenever that ankle hurt (weather related aches, etc).  I’ll have to keep an eye on that.

Wow, I really got sidetracked there.  Anyway, I’m now kinda afraid to do much, for fear of the next piece of bad luck.  Both events so far were personal as in what broke or was injured was mine and really only affected me (OK so DH had to run me to the store for the fans and help me install them and he’s worried about me cuz I’m injured but he’s not really been affected like I have).  The only thing I can think of that could break that would only affect me is my pasta machine.  And that’s a very scary thought.  I do have a brand new machine and motor in storage but I’m rather attached to my old ones.  They’ve been with me and worked well for me for a long time.

Wish me luck please.

Published in: on March 9, 2008 at 11:27 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dystini.wordpress.com/2008/03/09/a-string-of-bad-luck/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

