Week 9 and the chaos that is my life

Yes I’m still doing The Artist’s Way.

I’ve not been writing about it cuz it’s not been helpful for the last few weeks.  I’ve already accomplished what it’s saying I should do.  I still do my morning pages (tho as bedtime pages).  I’ve been missing sat nights lately (DH being around distracts me) but I do them  the rest of the week.  I’ve had to shorten them more often than not lately, cuz they’ve not been useful but just make me more anxious.

DH and I have been in the process of getting a loan to buy a house since January.  We have no credit (literally) so we’ve had to manually collect and then submit reports from our creditors.  Our loan person took her sweet time getting these reports sent out and of course the companies took their sweet time returning them.  Last week, we got the news that our landlady wants to put the house up for sale as soon as our lease is up.  That’s in 2 months.  We’d been thinking we had some leeway in when we had to move out (we’re friends with our landlady and she’s always willing to work things out with us).  Now, there is no leeway, she needs us out so she can get the house ready for sale.  This sent me into a huge panic last week.  So my morning pages were just endless worrying about all we have to do and it just made me more anxious about the whole thing rather than making me feel better.  We’ve taken some steps to resolve some of the issues and I’m feeling better about it now.

But this also puts a monkey wrench into any creative plans I may have had.  I need to pack and clean as well as finalize loan related things and find a house to buy.  My work desk will be one of the last things I pack and I will take a few hours here and there to create if inspiration strikes but overall, I’ll be doing very little on the creative side.  I may even close my Ebay store for a week or 2 at the height of all this.

All of this doesn’t leave much time for The Artist’s Way.  I’ll continue with it and in all likelihood I’ll keep coming up on the fact that I’ve already accomplished most of it but even if I havn’t accomplished it, I won’t have much time to devote to trying to do it.  The one thing I won’t stop is the morning pages.  They are helpful, most of the time, and will certainly help me work thru the stress this whole situation will certainly cause me.

On one hand, I’m happy to finally be buying a house and have a place where I can do anything I want (including paint the walls purple with pink polka dots if I want to).  But the responsibilities of it scare the crap out of me.  I also despise packing and moving.  Thankfully my parents are letting us use one of their spare rooms as storage, otherwise I’d be in real trouble.  This is a one bedroom apartment, I simply don’t have room for all the boxes I’ll be packing.  Heck, there’s not even room for all the stuff we own.  So by taking the boxes over to their house once a week, I’ll have room to continue packing and eventually, this place will stop looking like a storage shed and more like a place to live.  (we’ve got to do something about our packrat tendancies lol)

So that’s what’s going on with me.  I expect posting here will become rare as well for the next few months as well.

Published in: on March 24, 2008 at 9:03 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dystini.wordpress.com/2008/03/24/week-9-and-the-chaos-that-is-my-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

